Six weeks done…and what a SHOCK!

Leave a comment

May 13, 2013 by jennaljackson

Hello dear ones,

Hello from another Monday in Vila Real! For the big news, we had transfer calls yesterday and no I’m not leaving, but I am…training! Yep. All those jokes and warnings turned out to be quite relevant. I go to Lisbon on Tuesday to pick up Sister Miles. Thanks to the mission craze and modern technology, we were already facebook friends and I can see her face in my mind. #welcometothenewage but I can only think of how different her experience is going to be than the one I had six weeks ago! I mean same area and everything, but american comp with one transfer down versus a native who’s gonna die soon. Needless to say, I’m not feeling like I have very much expertise per se, but as many many people have told me in the last 24 hours, the Lord qualifies whom he calls. We got the call about 2 hours before we were supposed to while we were sitting in Sacrament meeting…suddenly there’s a commotion and sister silva hands the phone to sister patterson (they’re the other dupla) and I’m just chilling there not really noticing what’s going on but a few minutes later I look back and my companion and Sister Silva are both gone from the room and Sister Patterson mouths something to me and I’m like whaaa and she mouths it again and again I’m like whaaaaa and then she hands me a piece of paper with all the transfers on it and it says Jackson – Staying – Training and then I have a heart attack and have to leave the room to compose myself. Sister Suzarte is headed to Lisboa to be a sister training leader. Should’ve expected that to happen all along, but I didn’t want to think about it. Anyway, I’m super nervous but also very determined. At this point there is no point in thinking about it, just gotta do everything I can to make the best of it for myself and Sister Miles. When I got the news, the first thing I thought of was Proverbs 3:5-6 which says “trust in the lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” I know that if we do all we can to be perfectly obedient and work our butts off to learn the language and teaching skills PLUS trust absolutely in the Lord in everything, we will be rewarded. By the way, Sister Silva is training too. So in our house there are four sisters: Sister Silva with 2 transfers, me with 1, and two greenies! Lucky Vila Real heheheh 🙂
On the bummer side, I will greatly miss Sister Suzarte, not least her truly impressive collection of American EFY music. I honestly don’t know how she’s managed to procure it all considering I’m pretty sure some of it is from the 1980s era, but I definitely had more than one morning of lolz thinking ‘what even is this song and why does she like it she doesnt even understand english’. My personal faves are this song that sounds like an Imogen Heap wannabe #mmmmwhatchasay and a cover of ‘climb every mountain’ by some guy who I can’t tell whether he wants to be Josh Groban or the singer from Muse. Also there’s another song that sounds suspiciously like the one at the end of the Goofy movie. But on the bright side Sister Suzarte not understanding English makes it so she has music that kinda isn’t really allowed, such as Jericho Road (i think) singing about wanting her lips for eternity, and that one song about the ugly girl who’s a sweet spirit. No matter how much she tells me she understands english I KNOW she doesn’t get those jokes. Bob Saget. But really, she was an incredible example to me and if I didn’t have her these 6 weeks I would definitely be a lot worse off than I am now. So I count my blessings. Plus, she already called me this morning to ask how I was and to bring her body lotion to the office with me. Classic.
In other little news…I did a division in Braga this week which was super cool. The sisters there have a super cush house so that was nice. We talked to millions of people on the street, which I needed practice with and which I most definitely will be doing with my daughter (feels very presumptuous to say that, I feel like with 1 transfer down I don’t even deserve the title of mom). One of our investigators got marked for baptism this week for the 19, which was exciting but now cannot be because she didn’t make it to church on sunday. She doesn’t really live in the city so when she’s not here for the day that makes it difficult. And she’s an 18 year old girl who smokes like a chimney, so it will definitely be a challenge for us but I’m determined to make progress with her. Her name is Marlene, and she’s the girlfriend of Otilia’s son so she’s sorta been around for our lessons with Otilia so that’s nice. We met her the same day as Otilia, and I had a really good feeling about her that day, so much that I thought maybe we got Otilia as a reference just to meet Marlene! But of course it was Otilia who we ended up working with so I was a little bummed, but it’s awesome to see her progressing now. Manuel is also mais ou menos marked for baptism, he verbally agreed out loud but we’re still haggling over a date. He is a difficult one, but we love him and have faith.
Welp not too many yokes or lolz this week, I’m a little too overwhelmed with the news still. We’ll be needing lots of prayers! But on the bright side, we can help each other learn, and we will learn how to do things in our own way without knowing what’s ‘normal’ or whatever from the older missionaries. We will have to be creative, obedient and trust in the Lord, and it will help us grow immensely. As always, love you all so much. Keep being champs and have the best week of your lives!
Com amor from portugal,
Sister J
Image
P-day in Mirandella
Image
Saying goodbye to Sister Suzarte
Leave a Reply

