one time i sat in an internet cafe for 5 minutes and still couldn’t come up with a good subject line.‏

Leave a comment

October 19, 2013 by jennaljackson

The day I turned 22 AND found the greatest graffiti in the land.....which says more or less 'MITCHES LOVE CAKE' and I only took a pic with the love cake part to be more appropriate but i told you anyway so whatever. So many lols.

The day I turned 22 AND found the greatest graffiti in the land…..which says more or less ‘MITCHES LOVE CAKE’ and I only took a pic with the love cake part to be more appropriate but i told you anyway so whatever. So many lols.

 

By this huge cliff in Sagres that also houses the second largest lighthouse in europe. OBVIOUSLY I was stoked #nautical but they wouldn't let me go up inside.

By this huge cliff in Sagres that also houses the second largest lighthouse in europe. OBVIOUSLY I was stoked #nautical but they wouldn’t let me go up inside.

 

Elder Moore (the leprechaun!!) pickup, and Sister travis and I. aka dream district from Gaia (these pictures are late I know)

Elder Moore (the leprechaun!!) pickup, and Sister travis and I. aka dream district from Gaia (these pictures are late I know)

Nothing TOO exciting happened this week…we continued to spend half of our week out of our area to do divisions. We were with two companionships in Setubal zone (I’m in the Algarve) which is about 3.5 hours away by train. The Portugal Lisbon mission is GRANDE DEMAIS. Divisions are super cool but TIRING because basically you have to be perfect and demonstrate lit-trully everything that President wants the mission to focus on. I mean, no that’s not tiring because of course I do that naturally and easily every day…………lolz. Sorry for exposing the secrets of mission leadership to the world. We have way less time to work in our own area which means we are having trouble meeting our goals which means we get sad. Also, our marked baptism for this week fell because she couldn’t (wouldn’t) stop drinking coffee. But we’ll keep working.

One of the highlights of this week was when we couldn’t go into the house of our one male investigator because there was no woman there, he got a little hyped up and said that the first thing he’ll do when he visits our church is go to the pastor (i.e., branch president) and say that it would be a much better idea to have missionaries go around one elder and one sister, so we could enter anywhere. I told him we couldn’t do that because we might fall in love. I’m excited to see him discuss this with our BP…who is….an Elder.

I just want to leave you all with a scripture and quite possibly my favorite sentences from conference:

Behold, I say unto you, that the good shepherd doth call you; yea, and in his own name he doth call you, which is the name of Christ…and if you will hearken unto his voice he will bring you into his fold, and ye are his sheep. (Alma 5:38, 60)

‘Trust the Lord. He is the Good Shepherd. He knows His sheep, and His sheep know His voice; and today the voice of the Good Shepherd is your voice and my voice. And if we are not engaged, many who would hear the message of the Restoration will be passed by.’ -M. Russell Ballard

(also feel free to listen to “Calling You” by the Lower Lights as you read this, just to carry the motif THAT FAR.)

I know that the Lord is calling after every one of His children here on the earth, but we’re the ones with the voices. He calls through us. Not us meaning missionaries. Us–meaning every one of us that has already been called and is already in the fold. This is something I never ever knew, or maybe never wanted to know before my mission, but really there is no greater joy than helping someone else come unto the Good Shepherd. I love the mish and I love all of you!!

Sister Jackson

Leave a Reply

