If I had an orchard…

Leave a comment

January 13, 2014 by jennaljackson

Hello lovers,
It was a great week because…..
1 (and only). WE MARKED ANTONIO!!!! YESSSSS! Right now he has a baptismal date of January 19th, the last day of the transfer. I have never been so happy nor so nervous about a baptism yet. This is a call to arms, we need all the prayers we can muster! He is totally ready, he’s been to church a million times and accepted baptism awhile ago, just needs the extra push of courage and comfort to make it happen now. And we need to get him the gift of the holy ghost asap as well!
 
I was thinking a lot this week about why. Why is he marked now? What did we do differently as missionaries, or what changed in him that made him actually accept the date this time? And then I was thinking….I don’t think anything changed. And a song that I’ve been thinking about all week came to mind (i’ll apologize now that it’s not mission standard) which is helplessness blues by fleet foxes. and in the beginning he talks about how he was raised to believe he was unique and special but… 
 
“Now after some thinking, I’d say I’d rather be a functioning cog in some great machinery serving something beyond me.”
 
And at the end of the song, he also says something that I have used as sort of a motto my entire mish: “If I had an orchard, I’d work till I’m raw; if I had an orchard I’d work till I’m sore.” Those two thoughts together sort of combined into an answer…I’m special to heavenly father, but I’m no more special than anyone else. But I do know that as I preach the gospel of Jesus Christ I am part of a cause bigger than myself. So if Heavenly Father wants this baptism to happen and Antonio is willing to use his agency likewise, then it will happen. All I have to do is take care of my orchard and work till I’m raw, serve that greater purpose. And I can work hard to be the best cog I can be and basically just not screw up the blessings God has for all of us.  
Guys, there really is no good in singing helplessness blues, nor feeling inadequate nor superior to what we’re given–let’s be glad that we’re all just a cog in Pai Celestial’s great machinery. And we each have our little orchard–for me right now, it’s defined a little more clearly, considering my orchard is everything this side of Aveiro’s river. But it’s not just for missionaries. We can be happy just to work until we’re sore caring for the trees and the lives and the gifts and space that God gives us.
 
Sorry my spiritual thought came from a folk song, and sorry for rambling on about stuff that probably only seems cool to me. I swear I don’t think I’m indie or anything.
 
I love you all with all my heart, and I love this work!! I’ll have more funny ha ha jokes for next week…but for now…pray for us 🙂
 
Sister Jackson
Leave a Reply

