“love is like cake, you eat it and you like it”‏

Leave a comment

May 26, 2014 by jennaljackson

Subject line: the gems I get when the Beehives from the Belmont Ridge Ward send their deepest thoughts on cards to me.
Ola meninos de ouro,
I can’t think of anything too funny this week other than right now we are in a capela with like 12 missonaries, of whom  8 are elders and 4 are zone leaders, and they are all totally playing juice pong in the cultural hall. Please no one write president about this. They need some fun in their lives. Also we looked up all the funniest names of the people who wrote the hymns in comp study. Ebeneezer Beesley was taking a strong lead until someone named ONDERDONK showed up. Annndd we got a winner.
In terms of investigators also nothing new 😦 Nelson couldn’t come to church this week because he had family in town, and he has a little bit of a problem with women not being able to have the priesthood. We were like Nelson, you’re a dude…don’t WORRY about it. Just kidding, we would never say that…we’re gonna work on getting him a testimony of the restoration.
Our miracle of the week was Luisa, our investigator who came to church 2 weeks ago. well we were sure she was avoiding us because she was never at home and she never picked up her phone and we were so sad and confused! Usually I can TELL when someone is gonna start to fugir, ya know? But anyway we randomly caught her in her house late Saturday night and she said she’d found a lot of work that week and lost her phone AND SHE DOESN’T HATE US and we are meeting with her today. That doesn’t sound too cool as I type it out, but in Foz we take all the miracles we can get 🙂
We contacted a Muslim from Africa at the bus stop who lives in Spain and I tried to talk to him in Spanish and he’s like you know what…just speak Portuguese, it’ll be easier for all of us. 😦
Other than that…just tryna find the elects. Always.
My thought for you this week comes from Neal A. Maxwell. Someday when I’m old, someone will love me enough to make me a book full of all Neal A. Maxwell talks from all of forever for me to study and love…he’s a poet. But this is something he said to Elder Bednar at the end of his life: “I have learned that not shrinking is more important than surviving.” Shrinking is so easy. And so tempting. Christ said that the pain of Gethsemane “caused myself, even God, the greatest of all, to tremble because of pain, and to bleed at every pore, and to suffer both body and spirit—and would that I might not drink the bitter cup, and shrink—Nevertheless, glory be to the Father, and I partook and finished my preparations unto the children of men.” I am more grateful every day that Christ shrank not, and as He too learned, not shrinking is much more important than surviving…or anything else life can throw our way. I’m working on it.
(also insert a “and I certainly haven’t been shrinking” fat sister joke here hee hee)
love you all.
kill it stunners,
Sister Jackson
Leave a Reply

